Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Confused about document setup requirements

Community Beginner ,
Apr 23, 2023 Apr 23, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi.

I started working with a professional printer and his setup requirements have me confused. I am a newb btw. 

I created an 11x17 doc with an 1/8 bleed all around. He printed it on 11x17 paper and it came out weird. So he told me to make the document's canvas size 12x18 instead, and to add a 1/8 bleed around the 11x17 doc, and that he would print it on a 12x18 piece of paper to be true to size. 

My question is, why do I need to add the canvas size to my 11x17 document? Why can't I just create an 11x17 doc, add the bleed and he print the sucker on 12x18 paper? I truely don't understand why my file needs to be 12x18 when that gets cut off anyway.

TOPICS
Print

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Find a new printer. In 20 years I've never had a printer tell me to do what he's asked and I've set up many a file just as you did.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied