Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

CONSECUTIVE NUMBERS on ODD Pages Only

New Here ,
Dec 03, 2020 Dec 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all!

I am a graphic designer with pre-press knowledge and I have a huge problem that maybe someone can help me with?!

I have a few mutli-page PDFs - every odd page is a header to a two-page letter in which has a corrosponding envelope. There must be a number (1-...) on the header page to corrolate to an envelope.

So, basically, I need to add consecutive numbers to the ODD pages only. Page 1 would have a tiny "1" in the top right corner where as Page 3 would need a "2" and so on. 

Is this at all possible?! HELPPPPP

Thanks!!

TOPICS
How to , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

Guide , Dec 03, 2020 Dec 03, 2020

Instead of using automatic page numbers, make a text frame only on the right master page. Next, make a text frame on the pasteboard and style it to the size and font you want, and make it a numbered list. Then hit the Enter key as many times as you have need for numbers. If it's a lot, do it 10 times, select all, copy and paste 10 times and you'll  have a hundred. Now tick the out-port of the text frame with the numbered list, hold Shift and click into the master frame on the first document page

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Dec 03, 2020 Dec 03, 2020

Hi @Seek-5C7C :

Note that InDesign won't put a number in front of an empty paragraph. Adding a space on the line is all it take for the number to show up, in @Migintosh's example, add Spacebar Enter instead of just Enter.