Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Document size - margins confusion

New Here ,
Jun 04, 2022 Jun 04, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am new to InDesign so apologies if this is a stupid question. 

I have to design an ad for a newspaper and the dimensions are quite odd. Width 2.68" by height 2.25".

Usually, I would use 0.25 margins and bleed but I am just a bit confused with how everything looks. There is a much larger margin size/white space than usual and I am unsure if I am supposed to have everything designed to reach the black lines/ go over that white space to the edge or if I should have everything designed within the pink/purple lines (but then there are the huge margins just there). Can someone please help me out? I was just told to stay within the purple/pink lines and to never reach the bleed so I am confused about the actual document size/ad size. I hope this makes sense..

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 05, 2022 Jun 05, 2022

HI @sophiep28677225 You can take the Margin, Trim, Bleed terms literally. The Trim line is where the page would be cut if it was output as a single page and trimmed, the Bleed is the amount that would be cut off, and the Margin would be the visual space from an object set on the margin to the trim edge.

So to illustrate Jame’s post:

Screen Shot 10.png

Your ad is going to be placed in another page layout and not trimmed, so you don’t really need to include a bleed—if you do and your ad gets placed with its

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm only partly following what you see as the problems, but here's some thoughts. This isn't as much an InDesign-specific issue as it is an ad-layout one in general.