• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Does Indesign have something similar to Xd Components?

Explorer ,
May 22, 2022 May 22, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Indesign, and I'm trying to set up page structures for a ~40-page PDF that's outlning different store layouts. Each store will have 3 different categories of page, each with their own unique page structure/layout: one to outline the floor plan, one to outline the store fixtures, and one to show a grid of images. For example, all the floor plan pages will have a title, a subtitle, a legend, and a floor plan, but their content will obviously change from store-to-store.

I've learned that Master Pages are useful for content that I want to appear on every page, but not useful for content that I want to change from page-to-page. For example, while I want the page's title in the same place on every single page, that's not something I'd want to include in the Master Page because I'd have to override it to change the title content for every single page anyway. Later on, if I decided I want my tites in a different position on the page, I'd have to go back and manually change each page's title again.

With Adobe Xd, you can create objects called Components. Components allow you to create standard content structures where you can change the specific content between Component instances, all while keeping their structure and formatting linked to the Main Component. This functionality is exaclty what I'm looking for in Indesign. It would allow me to set up standard page structures and edit their content, while leaving the ability for me to rearrange the page structures in the future and have that change automatically reflected on all pages.