Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Find/Replace « GREP help

New Here ,
Oct 28, 2021 Oct 28, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello !

I'm a total newbie at using GREP and I tweaked the FindChangeByList script to find and replace a bunch of little things like double spaces, thin spaces before some punctuations mark, etc.

Everything works like a charm EXCEPT for the the double quotes « and ».

Here is one of the scripts that I use and that works perfectly well :

grep {find what:" [?]"} {change to:"~<[?]"} {include footnotes:true, include master pages:true, include hidden layers:true, whole word:false} Find all space-question mark and replace with a thin space-question mark.
text {find what:"[?]"} {change to:"?"} {include footnotes:true, include master pages:true, include hidden
layers:true, whole word:false} Find all brackets-question marks-brackets and replace with a question mark.

(I needed to put the question mark between brackets because it didn't work without. No clue why as I don't know the first thing about GREP).

I used the exact same lines and replaced [?] by [«] to apply it to «, but it doesn't work. I've roamed the internet for an answer, and none of what I tried worked.

Does anyone out here have a clue why and might be able to help ?

TOPICS
How to , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 29, 2021 Oct 29, 2021

Just noticed there was an error in the script syntax, which I corrected to : 

text {find what:"« "} {change to:"«~<"} {include footnotes:true, include master pages:true, include hidden layers:true, whole word:false} Remplace guillemet-ouvrant-espace par guillemet-ouvrant-espace-fine.