Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

first time designing A4 bi-fold brochure/menu

New Here ,
May 30, 2021 May 30, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello!

I'm extremely new to using inDesign, so I'm going to apologise now for my questions, haha! 

I'm creating/designing a new menu for my partners business, which is super exciting! & while I'm pretty pro at Photoshop this is my first time using inDesign, so I'm still learning. I wanted to clarify a few things, because it's really starting to worry me when it comes time to print. 

When creating a bi-fold, A4 brochure do you:

a. set up the doc as an A3, landscape with 2 columns to create the area for the fold line and split the page into 2 A4 ....or...

b. set up the doc as an A4, landscape with the 2 columns? 

I imagine the bleed lines/margins are then up to me to decide depending on style etc. 

Also, when it comes to facing pages - according to what I've researched I don't use them for this style of brochure?

When we do print we were told it would be on A3 paper, to then fold in half. 

OR am I doing this all wrong? 

Again, I'm sorry for the questions! I really hope this all makes sense. 

TOPICS
How to , Print

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
May 30, 2021 May 30, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Use two A4 landscape pages plus 3mm bleed on each edge.

If it's a tri-fold zig-zag fold the fold marks are equal, if it's roll-fold the the third “page” is narrower so it tucks in. Make up a plain paper dummy so you can measure the widths (note the sides).

Work in RGB colour mode, place your images in InDesign either in PSD or JPG format.