• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I convert an AI file to an editable InDesign file?

New Here ,
Jan 12, 2020 Jan 12, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey all. I'm very new to this graphic design world & have been teaching myself these programs. I work for a family owned restaurant and have been in charge of recreating our menu's and catalogs. As I had zero experience in graphic design, and much to my dismay did zero research prior to starting this, I created our 30 page catalog in Illustrator. After 3 months of learning & making this catalog (which turned out beautifully despite the difficulty of using Illustrator to make a catalog), I had heard from multiple friends in the industry that InDesign should have been my way to go. So now I'm attempting to switch over to InDesign with all my menus, so that I can keep editing them. The menu is constantly changing and updating so the work on editing this file is never going to end and that's why I still need to be able to edit this file with all the layers in InDesign. Anyone got any tips, or suggestions on how I go about this besides starting over from scratch?

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 12, 2020 Jan 12, 2020