• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do i re-create this directory structure

New Here ,
Jul 29, 2019 Jul 29, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone.  I am brand new to InDesign and have been tasked with trying to figure out how to produce a "directory".  I have looked at few different videos and attempted to create the first part of the structure in the program.   Is there any tutorials that anyone can point me to accomplish the below.

1. Sort by State
  2. Then Sort by county / Zip
  3. Then alphabetize the listings under number 2. 
  4. Have the InDesign produce the page that looks like what is below (which sorta explains all of the above).  I know the first three i can accomplish via the database.  How do i translate the first three into something that InDesign can ingest and produce something that looks like the below.  Or better version of the below.

Hopefully this make sense. 

dir-struc.jpg

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

InDesign does not have the capability to do that kind of sorting. You'd have to do that at the source whether it's a database or an Excel spreadsheet. You'd have to set up all of the styles you'll need in InDesign whether that's character or paragraph and layout the page with the proper column structure.

Frankly, this is most certainly not the kind of project a newbie should be trying to work on unless you have an unlimited amount of time. But if you have more specific questions, feel free to post them.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Seconding what BobLevine​ said.