• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How hard for a newbie to use In Design for a picture book?

Community Beginner ,
Jul 12, 2018 Jul 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I am working on a picture book, soon to format into files. I have no experience yet with In Design, but have been warned that it's "very difficult", but also the best. Any comments? I'm not a computer whiz but pretty good at learning.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Being experienced in graphic design is IMO more important than being a computer whiz. If you have a background in graphics design, then you'll go "ah this is how InDesign does that particularly perfectly normal instruction".

If you don't, you may find yourself go "what the heck is "bleed' and "spot" and contextual swash and overprint and color management and why is type measured in a 15th century unit and why can't I start a left hand page numbering with '1' and why is InDesign not telling me what all of these functions are for and how to not use it and why should I have to know all these things because in Word you don't need to know all of that at all to type just a simple text and place a picture".

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Participant ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Lol - I enjoyed reading that!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Lets take it that way:

I learned Indesign, so it cannot be that difficult.