• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How long to learn InDesign for an experienced web designer/writer/book-designer?

Community Beginner ,
Jul 28, 2023 Jul 28, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been doing web design, mostly with WordPress, for 20 years.  I've professionally produced over 200 websites. I'm expert with HTML and CSS.  I'm also a writer/editor, well-versed in Chicago Manual of Style.  Recently, I've edited/designed over a dozen print-on-demand books and eBooks, some which look better than their big-editing-house first editions. 

https://www.amazon.com/Goatwalking-Wildland-Living-Peaceable-Kingdom-ebook/dp/B09C932M5D/ref=tmm_kin...

I can write .epub documents from scratch, coding all the HTML and CSS myself.  I'm also a Photoshop artist.  I'm using MSWord as the desktop publisher.  How much of a learning curve will it be to pick up InDesign?  I'm not convinced it would help me add much value to the work I'm already doing with MSWord.  I've used that since the first version, 40 years ago. (I put myself through my last year of college as a word processor.  Before that, all there were, were typewriters. Anybody ever heard of Vydek?)

It's invaluable that the author and I can go back and forth editing the book.  That wouldn't be possible in InDesign.  While I'm at it, I'm formatting it to look like a perfectly professional-looking book.  

Who can convince me that it will be worthwhile to put in that to-be-determined learning curve with InDesign?  This is morphing into a self-publishing service purely by word-of-mouth.  I'm researching how best to grow it.  

TOPICS
EPUB , Publish online

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,