• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Importing an entire book manuscript into InDesign: What are the best practices?

Explorer ,
Jun 10, 2019 Jun 10, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi. I'm new to InDesign, but have read up on creating a book. The recommended practice seems to be importing each chapter as a separate document and then creating a book file. However, I created my multi-chapter book manuscript  as a single file in MS Word.  Should I break up the manuscript into separate chapter files before I import into InDesign? (That will take some work.) Will importing the whole thing into InDesign, as a single file, create a mess?

If I do break up the manuscript and import each chapter separately, what will happen to the automated page cross-references I have set up in Word?

All advice much appreciated!

Marie

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Depending on the length of the book I suggest you try one document first. Place the MS into InDesign using the Microsoft Word Input feature (that may not be the exact name, but I can’t check at the moment).

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks, Derek!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Guru ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

you can keep it all on one document and use the word to indesign style mapping feature. here:

https://indesignsecrets.com/solving-word-workflow-problems-with-style-mapping.php

Votes

Translate

Translate