• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

InDesign Crashing When Editing Presentation File

New Here ,
May 18, 2024 May 18, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I’m working on a presentation in indesign. Not a very big file. Everything was going pretty good but then suddenly it started crashing. It’s fine when I’m working on any other file but this one as soon as I try moving elements around it just closes the entire indesign altogether.

The issue started last week and I went to ask for some help from my workshop tutor (I’m a graphics student so I had the opportunity to go and ask) and he made me download a newer version of Mac software (I’m running the newest one rn) and it temporarily fixed it. I was able to finish the presentation but I was asked to add some new stuff and change some bits.

The thing is suddenly indesign started crashing again. Same situation, I open the file and try to move something around and it just crashes closing the entire program. I don’t know what to do, tried saving as a new file, as idml, restarting it, I tried resetting the preferences but when I use the shortcut nothing happens. I’m stuck and the clock is ticking cause I need to deliver the presentation this weekend. What else can I try?

I can’t really copy the pages into a new file because when I try the app just closes again

<Title renamed by moderator>

TOPICS
Bug , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I tried resetting the preferences but when I use the shortcut nothing happens

If nothing happened, you certainly released the keys too soon: quit InDesign and relaunch it while holding down the Shift, Ctrl, Alt and Cmd keys. Don't release them until you see a warning message asking for confirmation.