Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

InDesign document looks different when exported

New Here ,
Jan 08, 2018 Jan 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello people,

I'm new to graphic design and I've been using Adobe InDesign for about 2 months. I'm currently voluntary working on a student magazine. I think I'm doing overall a good job, however I'm confused when it comes to techincal elements of importing/exporting a document(s). I want to do a good job and give those people that will print it (not on a home printer, i'm talking about those big factory printers that print magazines and newspapers) a correct pdf print version.

The problem I face is that my document inside InDesign looks slightly different than the one exported into "PDF (print)". I'll show with pictures what I mean:

InDesign.png
Printscreen directly from InDesign while working (before exporting); I used multiply effect onto image btw.

Adobe acrobat pro.png

Printscreen from Adobe Acrobat Pro XI Pro (this is view of exported InDesign document in "pdf (print)" version)

Sumatra.png

This is printscreen of the same exported pdf (print) document, just in another pdf viewer (SumatraPDF)

illustrator.png

Printscreen how this vector image that i import into InDesign looks originally in Adobe Illustrator (printscreen directly from illustrator).

My ultimate questions are:

1) Is there any issue if I import picture in InDesign as a pdf file that is saved from Illustrator; does that couse any problems here?

2) Which one of these alternatives should I trust, or is there any way to really see how REAL print version will look like?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 09, 2018 Jan 09, 2018