• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

justification alternatives

Community Beginner ,
Jan 03, 2020 Jan 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am building a Hebrew font that uses different gylphs for justification--horizontally elongated versions of letterforms.

Is there a way to have InDesign automatically select among these justification alternates? Or must this be done manually?

Someone suggested to me that I use the jalt typographic feature, but I am not technically knowledgable enough to know the ramifications of using it.

Thanks for any tips or pointers!

TOPICS
Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 03, 2020 Jan 03, 2020

Justification setttings are part of the Paragraph formatting, so you could define any number of alternates as Paragraph Styles

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Justification setttings are part of the Paragraph formatting, so you could define any number of alternates as Paragraph Styles

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Sep 02, 2021 Sep 02, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LATEST

Hey everyone!

Back at it, 2 years later! Quick question about justification alternatives. I assumed that what a jalt was, was that they were used occasionally to to help with fully justified text. But when I have them turned on, InDesign automatically substitutes ALL the jalt glpyhs in. Am I misunderstanding this feature? Or is it not working properly?

Thanks!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Valorous Hero ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied