• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Multiple Record Merge Directory Records Overlapping

Community Beginner ,
Aug 07, 2023 Aug 07, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am working on a 5.5 x 8.5 Class Reunion Directory. There are several lines of data in the merge and a few of them "Family and Friends" and "What have you been up to" can get quite wordy. I used the Auto-size option in Text Frame Options to allow the frames to expand for the data. However, when I do the multiple record preview, they are overlapping each other. I tried playing with text wrap to see if that would bump the text box down but instead it cuts off the "What have you been up to" data after about 2 lines and then that data continues at the bottom of the page, running off the page. 

I have never done a merge like this in InDesign before so I am hopefully just missing a step or option. The data should populate wether it's 2 lines or a paragraph and contine onto the next page at my margins, just like a typical book. 

I've attached examples with my data blurred for privacy. Hopefully you can see how they are overlapping. Any help is appreciated!

multiplerecord_preview.jpgmultiplerecordoptions.jpgmultiplerecordpreview_wtextwrap.jpgTextbox_autosize.jpg

TOPICS
How to , InCopy workflow , Scripting , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Aug 07, 2023 Aug 07, 2023

I suspect the problem is that InDesing sees the size of the frames to be merged as the size of your template placeholder frame, and uses that for positiong all the new frames that are generated, but after the merged frames are autosized some become longer and overlap the frames below them.