• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Search the Swatch palette by "Name"

Enthusiast ,
Aug 16, 2021 Aug 16, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Please excuse the newbie question but I'm unable to search for a particular swatch entry in the Swatches panel? There is no handy search field as in Illustrator. Nothing in the panel menu either. I inherited a document with over 1700 swatch entries...

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been working with InDesign since 1999, the year that it came out. I have been teaching InDesign for about 20 years. I've never heard of a document with 1700 swatch entries. I'd consider that a very poor production practice. I teach people how to selected unused swatches and remove them. If you were to pass that file onto someone else it would be a nightmare.

I think of using a search function in many area of InDesign but the Swatches panel in production should never have so many swatches.

You can use Select All Unused Swathces from the panel menu. Why would you use one document to store so many? You can always import more swatches from another document by Load Swatches. You can store swatches outside of a single document by learning to use Creative Cloud Libraries. You could store them into categories in Libraries.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Steve and Diane,

The document with the 1700 swatches in question comes from me. I created in to hold my Munsell Book of Color, Glossy Edition swatches. Each chip was measured with a spectrophotometer.