Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Text box disappears over canvas

Contributor ,
Mar 10, 2018 Mar 10, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there-

Im new to indesign and having a heck of a time. Im trying to draw text boxes, but the second I bring the cursor over the canvas it changes. If im over the gray background of the workspace the icon is the ][ looking thing with a box around it. The second I move it over the white workspace it changes to a ][ with no box, and I can no longer create text areas. Because of this I have to create them off to the side and move them after the fact which is a huge pain.

Ideas?

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 11, 2018 Mar 11, 2018

Most of us suspect a Primary Text frame, although it could be a regular frame converted to a text frame.

• Note that Primary Text Frame is checked. Try this in a new document.

• Confirm Frame Edges and Guides are visible in View Options
  • Tell us what  the frame looks like when it is selected with the Selection tool. Here are some examples.

• Fill with Placeholder text. (Type menu.) The text will fill all of the pages (in my case, 24). Apply the None Master to a page. Notice that the frame and text stays on

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Jdecker:

1. Nice job describing/showing us the cursors.

2. The ][ with the box around it is ready to add a text frame.