Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What is the importance of keeping the .idml

Community Beginner ,
Jan 11, 2022 Jan 11, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello Adobe Support Community,

My name is Daniel. I'm a single salesmen by trade and I love learning new pieces of software.  I'm a SalesForce admin.  I love to learn and I'm usually good at learning new UI.  Yet, when I signed up for an InDesign licence with Adobe I thought I'd catch the wave quickly.  It is not the case.  I just can't get to do everything I want with InDesign and as quickly as I would have liked.

Therefore, I had to hire a designer to help me speed up my process of creating a two pager for a sales pitch I'm preparing.  I attach the piece so that you can see what and where I'm at so far in that endeavour.

Please forward my use case to someone else if you feel that other person can be of assistance.

Here is my case:

I received my first draft from that designer in Sri Lanka.  Of course, I am planning to edit the content, make some changes to the piece, etc  The one question I have is this.

Considering that I received the .zip file of my first draft with three files and two folders:

• file number one: .indd
  • file number two: .idml
  • folder one: the fonts
  • folder two: the source images

I searched information about this .idml file and the purpose of it and I got this explanation of both file extensions:

• The .indd file stores a lot of data from the resources used within the file and the most memory intensive of these are the graphics.
  • The .idml file is essentially a text document 'describing' our InDesign file rather than the file itself.

My question is this:

If I modify the text in the .indd file, how can I make sure I did not loose the integrity of the full project?

I want to make sure that my changes will be compatible with other technical persons who open my project for let's say, printing the said flyers.

Do you understand my question?