• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Where are line spacing options?

New Here ,
Sep 03, 2008 Sep 03, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I am very new to InDesign, and have done some searching for the answer to this, but must be missing something somewhere. I have a user who placed a document into InDesign. The Word doc was double spaced, and he would like single spacing in his InDesign doc. Is there such an option available? Where is it hiding?? There must be single/double spacing options, right? We are using InDesign CS3.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Wrong.

DTP programmes do not use the single/double spacing concept which is a throwback to typewriters.

Inter-line spacing is controlled by the leading value of the type, and/or additionally by setting a space before/space after value for the paragraphs. You might also be seeing artificially spaced text if it is set to align to the baseline grid, and the leading value is inappropriate for the grid spacing, forcing the type to align to every other grid line.

k

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks so much for taking the time to answer my post, Ken. I know I have a lot to learn because I only understood a few of those words. 🙂 It does answer the question of why I couldn't find a spacing button, though. I'll play around with some of those options you mentioned. Thanks, again!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied