• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why will the Type tool not work?

New Here ,
Mar 25, 2018 Mar 25, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I was working on a project in InDesign, and I needed to use the Type tool. I clicked on it and tried to create a text box on my artboard but nothing would appear. I tried this several times and nothing happened. I have never had this issue before. I read that it may be helpful to "trash" the preferences, so I tried the keyboard shortcut and nothing happened. Everything else appears to be working fine. I am new to this program and don't know anything about how to fix these things.

[Here is the list of all Adobe forums... https://forums.adobe.com/welcome]
[Comments is to ask about the operation of the Forum, not a specific program]
[Moved from the Comments forum to the specific Program forum... Mod]

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 25, 2018 Mar 25, 2018

Try deleting your InDesign cache files (which is not the same as trashing preferences).

To do so:

For Macintosh Users: With InDesign closed launch a Finder Window in column view and click on your home folder. With the Option Key pressed choose Library from the Finder Go Menu. Within the Library folder find the “Caches” folder. Within the Caches folder find and delete the entire file “Adobe InDesign”. I find that deleting the cache file completely leads to a lasting change. 

For Windows Users: On W

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Mar 25, 2018 Mar 25, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Try deleting your InDesign cache files (which is not the same as trashing preferences).

To do so: