• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Edit Original (or Edit With...)

New Here ,
Sep 11, 2017 Sep 11, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all.  I am very new to InDesign.  I am trying to open/edit a PNG file directly in InDesign CC using the Edit Original command and I get an error message "No editor found for this link".  I have checked that my PNG files are set to open with Paint by default.  I get the same error if I use the Edit With... command and choose 'Paint' from the selection list that appears.  Is there a way to fix this, or will it just never work?  Very frustrating as I know this function worked flawlessly in FrameMaker.

Thank you.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Sounds like an operating system issue with file associations.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Ok, so how do I check or fix that?  If I double click on a PNG file in Windows Explorer, it opens correctly????

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Mentor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are you sure InDesign looks for mspaint executive in a correct location? Try Edit With... but instead choosing Paint from the list click Other.. and locate mspaint.exe manually. In Win7 64 bit the path is Windows > System32 > mspaint.exe. Is it the same executive you invoke from Explorer?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
New Here ,
Sep 12, 2017 Sep 12, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied