• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Greeting cards - InDesign or Illustrator?

New Here ,
Nov 11, 2020 Nov 11, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey guys,
I'm in the baby steps of creating a business with a business partner. They enjoy artsy types of things, and I'm an SEO professional, who also loves to write software. So we thought, let's design, print & sell greetings cards! 

My business partner has no experience with any Adobe software and needs to go on a few courses to learn the basics. Initially, I thought they would need to learn Illustrator, but after some research, it seems InDesign might also be a good shout. 

Obviously, in time, experience in both will be possible, however, which would be better to start with to enable them to design relatively basic designs for our greeting cards as quickly as possible?

Thanks in advance!

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 4 Correct answers

Either Illustrator or InDesign should meet your needs.

Illustrator definitely has the edge if you need to design highly-complex vector objects. InDesign has the edge for multipage documents with articles flowing between frames and pages as well as for dealing with ICC color management and text.

Personallly, I use InDesign for most of my work and when I need some artwork that Illustrator is better at, I create an modify such artwork in Illustrator, save a copy as PDF/X-4 in Illustrator, and p

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Nov 11, 2020 Nov 11, 2020