• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I erase PART of a line drawn with the line tool in ID?

Explorer ,
Oct 16, 2019 Oct 16, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm brand new to InDesign.   I've drawn a line using the Line Tool.  It's just a simple straight, vertical line.   And now I want to erase a segment in the middle of it, so the line will have a gap in it.    The erase tool just makes a little cloud shape but it doesn't erase anything.     How do I do this?    Thanks in advance!

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guide ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can use the pen tool to do that.

1. Start by selecting your line with the Select tool (black arrow)
  2. Click and hold on the Pen tool in the Tools pallet. That will show you the various tools nested within the Pen tool.
  3. Select the Add Anchor Point tool (the pen with the +)
  4. Click two points on your line where you would like the gap (you will see a new blue dot if you hit the line. If you missed, it won't add an anchor to the line, but just try again until you hit it)
  5. Switch to the Direct Select tool (white arrow)
  6. Click into an open part of your page to deselect the line
  7. Select the segment by clicking on it with the Direct Select tool, or dragging a marquee through the segment of the line you created by adding the two anchor points
  8. Hit the Delete key

That's one way, but there are others as well. Since you're brand-new to InDesign, may I suggest you try some instructional videos at Lynda.com or a book (InDesign Visual Quickstart Guide by Sandee Cohen has been recommended on the forum).

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines