• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Im running out of storage on my computer because I am using my computers disk space

New Here ,
Oct 31, 2020 Oct 31, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Im new to adobe and when setting up photoshop, indesign and illustrator, i used my systems drive instead of a external hard drive like google has reccomended. I am trying to move across my work on to this hardrive and I am having problems when doing so. 

For example, when I am trying to save the document it says "Cannot save the document. It may be opened by other applications. Close applications and try again. You may also use Save as to save it as a new document". 

I have tried to move the indesign files across to my hard drive and it says "1 problem (1 failure) was found with a background task" and I don't have any other background tasks open. 

I just seem to be having lots of different problems and i assume they are all related to storage and am not sure if moving to the hard drive will solve it 

TOPICS
Bug , How to , Performance , Sync and storage

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 31, 2020 Oct 31, 2020

I'm assuming that you're using Windows 10, because I've run across this problem myself. It's maddening, because I've run across it even when I haven't had the program open.

There are usually two factors involved here; one due to Adobe temporary files and one due to the vagaries of the Windows operating system.

The Adobe factor: When you open a file in Adobe graphics applications, you actually have two files — your [named InDesign file].indd and a second, [Buncha letters and numbers].tmp file

Votes

Translate

Translate