Highlighted

Paste Arabic Text from Word into InDesign Layout

New Here ,
Apr 10, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! I am working on putting Arabic text into an InDesign document that is currently in English. I've switched my Language preferences to English/Arabic and reinstalled the InDesign app. I'm trying to copy, cut and paste the Arabic translation from Word into the InDesign document, but when I paste the selected text it shows up as blank. Any help troubleshooting is much appreciated as I have limited experience with InDesign. Thanks! 

Most Valuable Participant
Correct answer by Willi Adelberger | Most Valuable Participant
  1. There is no need to uninstall and reinstall. Arabic, Hebrew, Asian or Indic versions can be installed above extisng languages.
  2. Having RTL tools does not change text properties.
  3. To work with RTL (RIGHT TO LEFT) documents you have to set it up on several levels:
    1. Document Level: Binding left or right
    2. Object Level: Set up Object Styles: Text frame, start the text frame in the left or right column. It should be set up correctly even if you work with a single column, so that you are able to change it later without any problem.
    3. Story Level
    4. Paragraph: Set up Paragraph Styles, several additional settings, language, direction, etc.
    5. Character: Set up Character Style for each language. If you have the main text LTR and some words in RTL (or vice versa) take care that no line break occurs in the string with different characters as contradictionals directions, both with line breaks cause problems.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Paste Arabic Text from Word into InDesign Layout

New Here ,
Apr 10, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied