• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can't open Lightroom Classic

Community Beginner ,
May 02, 2024 May 02, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to LRC. Whenever I try to open the app I receive this message: "Lightroom encountered an error when reading from its preview cache and neeeds to quit."

[moved from bugs to discussions according to the community rules - Mod.]

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , May 02, 2024 May 02, 2024

UPDATE FROM LIONEL1536:

I logged in as administrator and moved the Lightroom Catalog from my C drive to my D drive. I also changed some of the access permissions. I was then able to open LRC and import the photos I want to work on. Then I logged in as myself and was able to open LRC. I have no idea why LRC couldn't make changes to my C drive. However, I worked around that by moving the catalog file to the D drive. Now I just have to learn how to use the software.

Thanks again for your suggestion

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The message means that the preview cache, which contains the Library previews, is corrupted, and needs to be deleted.

The previews will rebuild as you browse folders in the Library.

With the File Explorer, navigate to the folder that contains the Lightroom catalog.

The default location is inside the Pictures folder.

Delete the file whose name ends with Previews.lrdata. Do not delete anything else.

Now launch Lightroom.

LR-preview-cache.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied