• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Excessive memory usage crashing Lightroom Classic

Community Beginner ,
May 17, 2023 May 17, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For the past few weeks I am routinely getting a message from MacOS that I'm out of memory and need to kill a program. The only program using an excessive amount of RAM is Lightroom Classic.

There are no tasks running in Lightroom, this occurs even when just viewing files. I'm going to have to switch to a different photo editor if this isn't resolved. It's unfortunate as I have been using Lightroom since 2019.

My catalog contains about 56,000 images, 667 are currently open in the Loupe.

Screenshot 2023-05-17 at 7.46.48 PM.pngScreenshot 2023-05-17 at 7.47.03 PM.png

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As a test, I quit Lightroom and reopened it. It started using about 1 GB RAM right out of the gate. I switched to the Develop module and it quickly climbed to 4.8 GB. I then switched to another image and I'm at 5.5 GB. After only a couple more minutes and a few more files open in Develop I'm up to 13 GB. It really seems like a leak, as it gets worse with each image open in Develop.

This issue started roughly around the time I switched to an X-T5 from an X-T4 (40.2 MP files versus 26.1 MP.) My laptop is an M1 Pro w/ 32 GB RAM.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

45 minutes of editing later and I'm getting the error again.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied