Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to backup photos and catalog to external hard drive

Explorer ,
May 02, 2017 May 02, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Beginner Here!

I have a iMac desktop and CC. I am concerned about making sure that I have dual backups of my photos and catalogs. I have purchased an external hard drive and would like that to be one of my two backups.  How do I get LR CC to backup photo folders/files and catalogs to my external hard drive? My second backup is my Time Machine that backs up my entire iMac desktop.

Thank you

Lisa

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , May 02, 2017 May 02, 2017

Lightroom does not make backups of your original photos, except at Import. So you need to use a third party backup solution -- as far as I know Time Machine works fine -- to back up your photos.

The catalog itself can be backed up by setting the proper option in Lightroom. Under Catalog Settings, there is a backup option. You want to set it to make backups at the desired frequency (the  choice is up to you), and when Lightroom asks you if you want to make a backup, choose a location on the extern

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Lightroom does not make backups of your original photos, except at Import. So you need to use a third party backup solution -- as far as I know Time Machine works fine -- to back up your photos.

The catalog itself can be backed up by setting the proper option in Lightroom. Under Catalog Settings, there is a backup option. You want to set it to make backups at the desired frequency (the  choice is up to you), and when Lightroom asks you if you want to make a backup, choose a location on the external drive.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines