• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to sync "across devices" - two computers and one phone.

Explorer ,
Jul 20, 2024 Jul 20, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have two computers (a Macbook Air, a desktop PC), and one Android phone.  I subscribe to the full Adobe suite.  I've been using these apps for many many years, and there's still so much that to me, is un-understandable.  I think one part of the problem is Adobe's lack of universal terms - like on mobile a "collection" is actually a FOLDER (yeesh I worked on that for an hour until I figured that out).

Anyway, I want to be able to sync photos I take on my phone to BOTH my Macbook and desktop - but - they are using two different catalogs.  So...am I screwed?  No way to have the same photo on all threee devices?

So then what does Adobe mean by "sync across all devices" - it seems that is IMPOSSIBLE, correct?

Thanks...

TOPICS
macOS , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 21, 2024 Jul 21, 2024

Cloud based is related to where the photos will be stored.

• Lightroom Classic (formerly known as Lightroom): Stores the original photos locally and uses a catalog for the metadata; only Collections can be synced to the cloud as SmartPreviews.
  • Lightroom (Desktop, new when Lightroom was renamed to Lightroom Classic - I know it's confusing): Stores the original photos in the cloud and does not use a local catalog.
  • Lightroom Mobile: Accesses photos in the cloud, either the SmartPreviews synced by

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied