• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Imported imaged in lightroom are smaller than original

Explorer ,
Mar 16, 2020 Mar 16, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey everyone, I am new to Lightroom & Photoshop. I was getting through editing my first photoshoot on here, and I realized in Photoshop that the pictures were much less detailed. I went back to the photos originally imported in Lightroom, and the files were much smaller. For example, a 6000x4000 jpeg was imported as a 1086x724 jpeg. 

I am shooting with a Sony a6000 in Raw + JPEG. I use Image Edge Mobile to get them from my camera to my phone, and I airdrop the photos to my mac. In my computer, they are 6000x4000 jpeg files. Once I import them to Lightroom, they decrease significantly. 

Has anyone experienced this or suggest a way that I can fix this?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

Explorer , Mar 17, 2020 Mar 17, 2020

This is the order of transfer:

Camera > phone (via Image Edge Mobile) > Mac (via airdrop) > Lightroom.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Mar 17, 2020 Mar 17, 2020

This is why your images are smaller. The image edit you are doing on your phone is sizing them down. 

Votes

Translate

Translate
Explorer , Mar 21, 2020 Mar 21, 2020

After some messing around with different methods of importing, I believe I figured out the issue. If i save the airdropped images to files instead of Photos and import them from there, they maintain their size. If I save them to Photos and then import them, they diminish is size significantly.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,
Mar 17, 2020 Mar 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Check your camera settings. It is more than likely set to record a Smaller JPG image than the sensor size.