• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Upgrading desktop and laptop

Explorer ,
Jul 05, 2022 Jul 05, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I can imagine this has been discussed before, but with new machines hitting the market all the time I guess answers do change...

Working as a professional photographer, i've recently upgraded my cameras from 20/30mpx to 50mpx models. On top of that, I'm doing a lot of HDR photos and even on top of that, using a lot the new (and wonderful) mask options on LR Classic 11.4.1.  

My Current machines are:

- Imac 5k 27 late 2015 |  3,3Ghz Quad Core i5 |  16gb 1867 DDR3  | AMD Radeon R9 M395X 4Gb | 3 TB Fusion Drive

- MacBook Pro 15  Mid 2014 |  2,8 Ghz  Quad core i7 | 16Gb 1600 DDR3 | Nvidia GT750 M 2GB + Intel Iris Pro 1,5gb | 1tb SSD 

Both struggle to build 1:1 previews (worse on the Imac) and both take their time to build the HDR files made from 5 to 6 raw files from 50mpx camera (Imac can't barely do it),  Macbook gets the work done but fan works hard). 

If I'm looking at this right, I could improve the Imac with a SSD Disk and get rid of the Fusion, and 16 more of ram (I tend to work with LR and PS at the same time...) .  On the other hand, it looks like the Macbook specs can't go any further so maybe time to get a new one.  I've checked Geekbench, reviews and so on, but I must admit I'm confused with so many options.

It seems like the sweet spot for my work would be the Macbook Pro 14  with M1 Pro, 16 ram (or 32 for intensive Hdr and masking?) | 1Tb ssd | 10 core.  But do I need all this power? 

https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-mac/macbook-pro/14-inch-space-gray-10-core-cpu-16-core-gpu-1tb#

or I'll be fine with this and save 800$?

https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-mac/macbook-pro/13-inch-space-gray-apple-m2-chip-with-8-core-cpu-and-...

second hand might be an option too - bigger screen, bigger disk, still saving 800$