Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Exporting RAW to JPEG - poor quality and lots of noise

New Here ,
Nov 21, 2010 Nov 21, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi folks,

I am new to using Lightroom - I have imported my RAW files, done some editing on some of my images and have then tried to Export as JPEGs (because I would like to have them in a file format that I can send to others to use).

I have used the "Export" function in Lightroom and followed the steps there (including setting the quality to "100") - I have successfully made JPEG files but there is so much noise in them.  They are visibly much much poorer quality than the equivalent RAW image.  I understand there is likely to be a loss of quality as you go from RAW to JPEG but this is a serious amount of noise. 

This leads me to think I am doing something wrong in the Exporting process, but because I'm a novice I can't think what it is - any help out there would be much appreciated!

Thanks.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Aug 15, 2011 Aug 15, 2011

I know this is an old thread, but I have the same problem and am hoping perhaps to get some new feedback.  I also have used all the same settings,

the best quality settings that I can do on export, but the quality I get when I convert to JPG is very poor. I do save at 100% because I want to send some of my images to stock agencies that want JPGs but at the very best possible quality.  I have experimented in changing the resolution to 300, resizing to 18MP (which is the native size from my camera

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Tell us the complete set of settings you use in the export dialog box.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines