Lightroom Classic crashes Mac in Develop Mode

New Here ,
Jan 17, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been using LightRoom Classic for several years without significant problems, but recently (almost two months ago now) it began to crash my computer. I was running MacOS 10.11 but hoped update to Big Sur would fix the problem: it did not. Then I waited for the next LR update but it does not change the situation.

Most of the time LR starts slowly but then appears to be working. As far as I can tell, Library mode is working normally. I start in Develop mode with pix previously loaded, but after a few operations it slows down, then freezes, followed usually by the computer crashing. No error message appears, although someeimes screen colours show during the process. Every other app on the Mac seems to run well, including Photoshop and Bridge.

I've tried everything I could think of, and also several ideas from other community posts. Now I'm out of ideas: either I fix the problem or cancel my sub and search for another raw editor. 

TOPICS
Crash or freeze

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
New Here ,
Jan 17, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

exactly the same problem for me !! it also crashed my 4T back up Harddisk 😞 

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
New Here ,
Jan 17, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied