• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Appropriate Size for Library File / Sync Issues Adobe CC vs LR CC

Community Beginner ,
Apr 29, 2020 Apr 29, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone. I am new to Lightroom CC as well as Mac, so I might be asking a dumb question here. But I can't seem to find a conclusive answer anywhere, so here goes..

I took roughly 2200 pictures a few weeks ago and imported them into Adobe CC Cloud. Approximate file size of all these pictures is 100Gb. Now, my understanding of the LR CC library file is that it is basically a pointer to your original files that keeps track of changes so that the originals remain unedited. So I would expect that file to be relatively small in size. Instead, it is over 100Gb -- even bigger than all of my RAW files. Furthermore, when I imported my pictures into LR CC, they are once again uploading to the cloud -- not just the single library file, but all 2200 pictures I imported. 

So I have a few questions:

1. Why is my catalog file so large, and is this normal? I definitely did not ask it to "Keep my originals" or anything along those lines in Preferences.

2. What is the difference between the Lightroom Cloud and the Adobe Creative Cloud, and are they redundant? I uploaded the originals to Adobe CC, so I would assume that LR CC would just be the catalog file with the edits, but I am unclear on what exactly is going on here since it appears to be independently uploading every single photo I imported. Also, LR CC shows that I have used the exact amount of cloud space as Adobe CC, even though LR is only about halfway through syncing all of these photos.

Many thanks for any advice you can give to a newb trying to figure all this stuff out!! I can happily upload some screenshots if anyone has a possible solution but just needs more information. 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines