• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I'm completely confused with Lightroom cloud and local storage.

New Here ,
Feb 04, 2023 Feb 04, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm not very tech savvy, and I'm just trying to use Lightroom to edit my photos.

I mainly use the Android app on my phone, and occasionally my PC.

A few weeks ago I got the message that I've filled up my 20gb of cloud storage, and no amount of deleting in my Android App, my PC App or on the Creative Cloud can change this.

I seem to have a Lightroom folder on my PC with 21gb of data, but I can't directly access any photos like I would on my Windows OS Pictures folders. ie individual thumbnailed files.

I think all my photos are backed up on my phone, but I cannot be sure.

So...that's two local storage places that my photos might be backed up to, but Adobe doesn't make this clear.

To really be on the safe side, I'd like to save all my photos again on to my external drive, but I can't confidentally do this.

Incidentally, on my Android App I thought I'd try 'Select All' and see what it would let me do.

It won't let me do much, and when I click 'Export As' hoping that I would have some further options, it just starts 'Exporting' without saying where it's exporting to.

Also, if I decided to use blind trust that my photos are safely backed up, and to delete all photos in the cloud, it seems that I can't just 'select all' and delete them.

(Much as I can't 'select all' and then move them to my external drive.)

Excuse the capitals, but I AM REALLY SURPRISED AND FED UP WITH ADOBE AND HOW DIFFICULT IT IS TO DO SIMPLE HOUSEKEEPING TASKS.

Excuse this muddled post, but in sum, I want to,

1. Make sure my Lightroom photos are stored in my PC's hard drive.
  2. Make a failsafe copy on my external drive.
  3. Make sure my Lightroom photos are stored on my Android phone.