• Global community
    • Language:
      • Deutsch
      • English
      • Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit
0

Issues with sync when moving Lr from old iPad to new iPad [was: An obvious issue!]

New Here ,
Feb 18, 2023 Feb 18, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There are issues with IOS Lr app for i-pad! There needs to be an on/off toggle for sync with off in default mode, sync should start with high resolution as default status instead of smart preview, and you should'nt be able to erase images across all devices without at least a prompt asking you for permission. Through a 

series of unfortunate events I lost years of work and 1500+ images and im devastated! I deccided to move my images from my old i-pad to a new i-pad, the sync started instantly without a prompt as soon as I opened both apps, unfortunately smart preview is the default setting so I decided to erase the images downloaded on

the new i-pad so far and start the process over. When I did the app told my original i-pad to do the same 

and now the images are gone forever. You could say the cloud will save them, and yes, the smart preview low res version. I shoot macrophotography, the quality and sharpness matter. Those images mattered! This app is for people striving for the best image possible, why on earth would the syncing be set to default as a low res version. I just dont get it!

TOPICS
iPadOS

Views

327

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Feb 19, 2023 Feb 19, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Only download Smart Previews is turned on in the App's Settings to save space on users mobile devices one presumes.

I think this is fair enough as it can be toggled off. Also you have the option to store albums locally if you need to work on full res images.

 

As for the deletion, you do get a prompt explaining what will happen if you delete a photo (if you have deleted items you also have 60 days to undelete them).

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
Feb 21, 2023 Feb 21, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LATEST

Please see this help page and check if your deleted photos can be recovered: https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom-cc/using/restore-deleted-photos.html 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines