• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom: Store Local = Full Raw Files?

New Here ,
Jun 07, 2019 Jun 07, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am just getting started with LR (non-classic) on Windows. I was under the impression that if I wanted to store an "album" locally, it would only store smart previews, not the full files.

I just clicked "store locally" on an album of 18 36MP D810 files, and LR tells me it will take 720MB of storage, which tells me that it wants to store the entire raw file.

Am I correct that LR will download all of the files?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LR will download a copy of the files, provided they exist as originals in the cloud. If you synced files from LR Classic to the cloud, only smart previews would have been uploaded in that case, so they would be saved/downloaded as smart previews in the previews cache, not in the specified location for downloaded originals.

But if you imported images into any of the Lightroom cloud client apps, they'll be held in the cloud in original form, so would be downloaded in the same format when you use the "Store Album Locally" option.

Your misunderstanding may have originated from the Lightroom mobile app, which has the option to "Only Download Smart Previews". The Desktop app doesn't have that option.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied