• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom Undo History or Optional Save?

Explorer ,
Sep 04, 2021 Sep 04, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I know I'm a relative beginner, but to have to lose all my work just because I can't find an Undo history seems like a pretty severe learning curve Lol wts. 

I opened a photo I had spent a long time editing. Then I found I had some duplicated presets, so I manually clicked and deleted about a dozen. Meanwhile it applied all the presets to my photo and apparently saved my photo, event though the edits were unintentional. I tried pressing Ctrl+Z to undo, but this didn't work. Once you close a photo and return to the album, is every change really unrecoverable? 

Are all my edits really lost just because I opened the photo and messed with some presets? Shouldn't it ASK me if I want to save what happened during a session? I don't always want to save every ________ thing I do, but Lightroom doing this makes me very tentative about exploring presets. 

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 05, 2021 Sep 05, 2021

Thanks for the tips. OK so repeated Ctrl+Z is the only way, even if you did some 50 adjustments? Pretty odd coming from Photoshop, or any program that confirms saving changes. It certainly isn't helpful for practice or learning, since I may open a photo, mess with it for 30 minutes just to see if I can improve it, but decide in the end I liked it better before.

In the Lightroom Desktop app you can use the "Reset to Open" command, which does what is says on the tin....i.e. reverts the image

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Sep 04, 2021 Sep 04, 2021