• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Long time Lightroom user - tales from the trenches - from 1960's - 2022

New Here ,
Jun 07, 2022 Jun 07, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I am a computer engineer with a passion for photography going back to the late 60's when my dad surprised me with a fully Manual Canon TX (still actually works). I am both the youngest and the only software engineer in a large family. In the 80's when my dad passed on, I received boxes and boxes of assorted photos, negatives and slides going back to the 30's. My dad had all the work from his 5 brothers, and it took years of scans to digitize them. Using Windows directory structures was painful and then I was introduced to THE DAM Book by Peter Krogh and that was transformational. Early on started with iView media Pro a nice lightweight DAM program. Upon the demise of that program, I purchased Lightroom 1 and Apple Aperture 2. While I liked the UI in Aperture, I decided to standardize on Lightroom mainly because I wanted the option to use it with Windows and MAC. 

Things we simple back then. My workflow was to import into Lightroom and have Photoshop when needed. Then Adobe introduced Creative Cloud. For years I did not do much in the legacy version now called Lightroom Classic and I changed my workflow to import new photos into the Cloud based Lightroom CC. I am a Cloud Engineer, so the advantages of the Cloud based program were apparent.