• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Raw files look different in lightroom vs windows photos

New Here ,
Feb 28, 2024 Feb 28, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So I recently started shooting in raw but I can understand why my images look different in lightroom vs my normal windows photos previewer:

Windows Explorer Photos:

Dario356847301fl8_0-1709136187788.png

Lightroom:

Dario356847301fl8_1-1709136254256.png

Now on this photo its not a major deal, but there's some photos that have lost so much in the highlights/shadows. 

I'm shooting with an X-T2 if that makes any difference
Lightroom version: 7.2 x64
TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

What are we looking at here? The original raw file, or an exported derivative (Jpeg, Tiff, etc.)?

Note that the Windows Photos viewer cannot display raw files, it will instead only be able to show you the jpeg image embedded by the camera at the point of capture, which is processed from the raw file by the camera software. If that's what you are looking at, then you're comparing apples and oranges. 

To get a more accurate comparison you would need to export the raw file from Lightroom, preferably to jpeg, then view that in Windows (but last time I checked, Windows Photos viewer isn't colour-managed, so differences could still be seen).

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LATEST