Skip to main content
Inspiring
Jun 17, 2022 2:50 AM UTC
Released

P: Create new window not reflecting right dimensions from clipboard

Hello, I am having an issue with photoshop where File > New > is not auto-inputting the clipboard size into the canvas size for the new document. This has worked on every version of photoshop until this point. I sadly ended up on version 23.3.2 (photoshop just updated itself in the last couple days I guess without me noticing, and I am pretty sure I had that auto update turned off since I reverted back to 22.2 a couple weeks ago, sigh)

 

Have you guys considered testing your product before launching updates? I reverted back to 22.2 because of all the bugs I was experiencing with the latest versions. Seems turning auto update off cant even save me. 

 

 

{Thread title modified by moderator}

311 replies

Participant
Jun 20, 2022 6:14 PM UTC

This was really tripping me up today, thanks for the other reporters and SimplTrix for the workaround.

Translate
SimplTrixAuthor
Inspiring
Jun 20, 2022 5:42 PM UTC


Just so everyone experiencing this issue is aware there is a workaround:

 

WORKAROUND:
Copy Image > File > New > NOW Select Custom (change from Clipboard) > Then re-select Clipboard > Now the auto-size works. It's a gimpy workaround but it works. 

 

Translate
CShubert
Community Manager
Community Manager
Jun 20, 2022 4:43 PM UTC

Thanks everyone for sharing. Have pushed this to the team to investigate.

Thank you,

Translate
Inspiring
Jun 17, 2022 2:50 AM UTC

Hi,

I'm User for Win 10.

 

Open the image, specify the size with the Marquee tool, copy it with ctrl + c,

 

The size of the clipboard that I did ctrl + c in File > New Document screen is not applied to the preset.

How can I Do?

Translate
Inspiring
Jun 17, 2022 2:59 AM UTC

The sizes shown in the first screenshot are examples.

Translate
CShubert
Community Manager
Community Manager
Jun 20, 2022 3:05 PM UTC

Hi @SimplTrix, sorry to hear this. Tested your workflow here and the result is as expeted.  Woud it be possible for you to share a video of your workflow so the team can see what you are seeing?

 

Thank you,

Translate
Participant
Jun 20, 2022 1:49 PM UTC

I'm having the same issue and it's frustrating...I do a lot of cut and pasting into new documents and this change has slowed me down because now I have to look at the sizing each time to select the right document size.

Translate
SimplTrixAuthor
Inspiring
Jun 19, 2022 5:31 PM UTC

Just to clarify - 
What I used to do:
Copy image > File > New > Clipboard is selected and the canvas size is automatically adjusted to the Clipboard item

How it works now (bugged)
Copy image > File > New > Clipboard is selected but canvas size not adjusted > I now have to select Custom > then back to Clipboard > NOW the canvas size is adjusted properly.


Translate