• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Apple CD-rom problem

Participant ,
Apr 03, 2022 Apr 03, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm working on a Mac since 1989 (Mac II). Technical things were more simple those days as I'm not very technical at all. 

I'm making a brochure about a annual festivity in my municipality that has his 50 years anniversary.

Pictures about this 50 years were kept in the beginning on a CD but on my MacPro there's no CD-rom anymore so they gave my one. Strange enough I can open all the CD-roms I've received but not my own (where I've kept my lay-outs over the years - at the beginning). 

Working with Catalina 10.15.7.

Is there a solution for this problem? 

Hopefully not too complicated. Thanks in advance.

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
LEGEND ,
Apr 03, 2022 Apr 03, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There's no "one size fits all", so details could be important.

Please tell us exactly what happens when you try to use your own CD. Include error messages in full, or screen shots.

Also, do you have a backup?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Apr 04, 2022 Apr 04, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Ah, it's probably as described here https://discussions.apple.com/thread/251765370

Basically old CDs will have been written using HFS, which current macOS cannot read. 

A Mac of intermediate age might be used to copy.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Ah, right, I guess that will be it. macOS High Sierra or even Mojave can read HFS format.