Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Automation from a filter plugin

New Here ,
Apr 06, 2016 Apr 06, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The background:

I've been coding in C++ for 15 years and C for about 12 before that, so I'm pretty well versed in the tools required for writing plugins.

My experience in writing plugins for Photoshop though is pretty close to zero at the moment having only recently downloaded the SDK and poking around in the examples.

My experience in using Photoshop is also at beginner level.

The question:

I am working with my stepdaughter (who is a newborn & toddler photographer) in creating plugins specifically tailored for other photographers, both amateur and professional, in the same line of work.

She has already successfully sold sets of actions, but would like move up to developing a range of plugins. As I'm the software engineer in the family it's down to me to see if her idea is a runner or not.

One of the requirements is that some of the filters must contain a certain amount of automation, such as creating a new layer, turning it into a mask etc.

My research so far has lead me to believe that filters are only filters and automation plugins only automate and they live in their own separate menus.

Is this true?

Can filter plugins control Photoshop in some way like a script or automation plugin, or is it denied this type of access?

Cheers for any enlightenment.

TOPICS
SDK

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Contributor ,
Apr 14, 2016 Apr 14, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

In short, the answer is yes, but indirectly.