Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Blending image into black background

New Here ,
Aug 04, 2018 Aug 04, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone

I'm very new to photoshop so slowly working my way round it. Apologies for asking what may seem a very simple question. I am playing with an image and all i am looking to do is just blend the image into my black background. I just cant figure out how to achieve this. I have my image and an example image below to what i am trying to achieve. Ideally i want to blend it into the background to hide the straight edge on the right hand side of the image.

My image

big5.jpg

How i want my image to look

Screen Shot 2018-08-05 at 07.50.05.png

Really appreciate any advice

Thank very much

Rufus

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Aug 05, 2018 Aug 05, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

Add a new layer filled with black (SHIFT +F5) and move it to the bottom of the layer stack by dragging it down in the layers panel.

Add a layer mask to your original image layer using Layer ..Layer Mask..Reveal selection

Now click on the mask in the layers panel and with a soft brush (0% hardness), set to black, paint on the image. You are actually painting on the mask.

Where the mask is white it will show the image on the layer. Where the mask is black it will hide the image and allow the black layer below to show through. Grey is semi transparent. So switch between the black and white brush until you have the effect you want.

Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied