• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can I change colour settings 'Working Space' after I have completed editing my photos?

Community Beginner ,
Aug 28, 2021 Aug 28, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all,

I am fairly new to all this....

After finishing editing my RAW images in Photoshop, I went to ‘Color Settings’ and have seen that my Working Space is SRGB IEC61966-2.1.

The photographic printers are asking for Adobe RGB (1998).

Can I now change this Working Space to Adobe RGB (1998) or will it affect all the editing I have done to the image? 

Thank you.

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The working space actually has no bearing on this. That's just a default for new documents and missing profiles. The embedded document profile will always override it (or it should, if you haven't messed around too much with the color settings).

What you want is Edit > Convert to Profile.

This recalculates all the numbers to maintain identical appearance in the new color space, and also embeds the new profile. You normally won't see any visual change.

That said, converting to a different color space doesn't have any immediate advantages, and there's normally little reason to do it. The main reason would be to move to a bigger color space for further work that requires more headroom. I suspect your printer specifies Adobe RGB just to avoid getting all kinds of strange profiles. If they have a standard color managed procedure, sRGB should be handled correctly too, and there shouldn't be any problems with that.