• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can't get Select, Modify, Contract to work on a layer

New Here ,
May 27, 2022 May 27, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm editing a Photoshop graphic as i need to contract a layer. When I first did this graphic I had no problem selecting, modifying and contracting the layers. Now a few days later I have opened the file and when I select a layer (specifically the Cut Area) and select, modify, contract....the marching ants do contract but then I can't apply that contraction and it just reverts back to the original size.

I'm fairly new to Photoshop so I'm hoping it's just something straightforward that I'm not doing!

TIA

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Did you apply the Selection as a Layer Mask? 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I don't think so, I'm using a template provided by a lasercutting company so the layers are preset, I then add my artwork to each layer.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Then I am not sure what you mean. 

You have Layers, you have a Selection – what are you trying to do exactly with them now? 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied