Skip to main content
Inspiring
Aug 10, 2021 7:41 PM UTC
Answered

Convert photo to line drawing

This should be fairly simple, but I am having a lot of trouble converting a photo to a line drawing.

 I thought there was once a filter for just that, but maybe I am dreaming that. Any suggestions?

Claire H.
Claire H.Correct answer
Community Manager
May 22, 2026 5:56 PM UTC

Hi everyone, we have created a new tutorial on creating a line drawing in Photoshop. 

Head to that post if you have any questions! ^CH

9 replies

Claire H.
Community Manager
Claire H.Community ManagerCorrect answer
Community Manager
May 22, 2026 5:56 PM UTC

Hi everyone, we have created a new tutorial on creating a line drawing in Photoshop. 

Head to that post if you have any questions! ^CH

Translate
jane-e
Community Expert
Community Expert
Sep 22, 2024 2:04 PM UTC

@Subrata_Biswas1828 

Do you have a question about how to use Photoshop?

Jane

Translate
davescm
Community Expert
Community Expert
Aug 10, 2021 8:25 PM UTC

If you have Adobe Illustrator in your subscription package you might want to look at Illustrator's image trace options

Dave

Translate
Inspiring
Aug 12, 2021 10:12 PM UTC

Thanks. I do have a subscription, but I am not very well-versed in AI. I will give it a try.

Translate
jane-e
Community Expert
Community Expert
Aug 12, 2021 10:49 PM UTC

Hi @active_Brilliance1549 

The basic steps in Illustrator are:

  • Start a new file in Illustrator and choose File > Place to place your photo
  • Select the image
  • Choose Image Trace from either the Control or Properties panel
  • Try the Presets to see which is closest — some create fills, some paths, some both
  • Adjust the setting in the Image Trace panel (Window menu, Control panel, Properties panel)
  • Be sure to expand the "Advanced" section
  • When it looks good, Expand (Properties or Control panel) to convert to vector
  • It is now a Group of vector objects

https://helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/using/image-trace.html

 

~ Jane

 

Translate
D Fosse
Community Expert
Community Expert
Aug 10, 2021 7:48 PM UTC

There's Filter > Stylize > Find Edges - but it does just that. I can't guarantee that you'll be happy with the result.

Translate
Stephen Marsh
Community Expert
Community Expert
Sep 22, 2024 9:40 PM UTC
quote

There's Filter > Stylize > Find Edges - but it does just that. I can't guarantee that you'll be happy with the result.


By @D Fosse

 

Keeping this in Photoshop, in addition to the filter mentioned above, there is also Filter > Filter Gallery > Stylize > Glowing Edges.

 

This can also be performed using the custom filter. Here are some actions that I created many years ago using various custom convolution kernels:

 

https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/v39rtjk2o5d4dv4zwgr4x/Custom-Convolution-Kernels.atn?rlkey=i6rad9i14q3eqfyay6k3qtynk&st=61qxf68r&dl=0

 

In most cases, one may need to pre-process before using any edge-finding filter, to simplify or remove noise etc.

Translate