• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Desperately need help with making a transparent stroke

Community Beginner ,
Oct 28, 2022 Oct 28, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to photoshop and all week have been trying to figure out how to make a transparent stroke around this graphic letter "A".  I am going nuts!!!  I am trying to make a t-shirt design and so this design needs to have a transparent background (the t-shirt will be colored...probably red).  I want to over lap the A with the W & the Y (all three letters in white) but there needs to be a little space between them so that you can distinguish one from the other.  If anybody has any ideas I would greatly appreciate it.  Thank you in advance.

P.S. I am using a mac

-Amy

TOPICS
Actions and scripting , macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 28, 2022 Oct 28, 2022

One way that you could make the transparent area around the A would be to create layer masks on the other letters based on the A. Here's how:

1.  Load the selection of the A by either Ctrl (PC)/Command (macOS) + clicking the thumbnail of the A in the Layers panel or going to Select > Load Selection... and selecting that layer.
  2. Go to Select > Modify > Expand... and enter the value in pixels for the space you want as a buffer around the A.
  3. Select the Y layer.
  4. Go to Layer > Layer Mask > Hide Selectio

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

One way that you could make the transparent area around the A would be to create layer masks on the other letters based on the A. Here's how: