Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Export GIF with Opacity

New Here ,
Jun 19, 2019 Jun 19, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I would like to know if it's possible to export a gif with like a 70% of opacity in the background, so that if i put it hover a video i can still see behind the gif.

Hope you can help me,

Continha

opecity.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

You posted in the forum comments section, if you tell us which application you're using we can move it to the appropriate forum

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

sorry its my first time here, im using Photoshop CC

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

No worries I'll move it for you

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

No, gif is a very bad file format for doing that. You should use either PNG (24bits with transparency), TIFF or a Photoshop file.

GIF is a (very) old outdated format that should not be used anymore for still images as it has very severe limitations. It may still be used to produce small animations, but there also, you should avoid where ever possible.

What editing program are you using? I will move for now from Forum comments​ to Premiere Pro​.

If you take a full coloured rectangle like in your example, you can also apply the transparency with your editing program.

ABAMBO | Hard- and Software Engineer | Photographer

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
New Here ,