• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

GIF exporting from Photoshop at low resolution and at a larger size

Community Beginner ,
Jun 15, 2020 Jun 15, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a Photoshop file set-up as per the attached image. 180mm x 50mm, resolution of 200ppi.

I want to export it as a GIF with a transparent background and at the size and resolution as the file set-up. 

Screen Shot 2020-06-16 at 9.40.05 am.png

When I do export the file, either 'save as', 'export' or 'save for web (legacy) it saves the file at 499mm x 140mm and a resolution of 72ppi, see image attached.

Screen Shot 2020-06-16 at 9.44.30 am.png

Firstly, why is it doing this?

Secondly, when I open the exported GIF in Photoshop and resize it and change the resolution and save it, it says it's saved, but when I close and open it again, it's reverted back to 499mm x 140mm and a resolution of 72ppi.
I have no idea what is going on, in my 15 years as a designer, I've never seen this happen. I've attached my Photoshop file if yoy want to see how it's set-up.

Thank you

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Jun 15, 2020 Jun 15, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

200PPI, CM and MM are all print values. They have no meaning on the web. 

For digital art and web images, I prefer to work with pixels.  I start with an oversized canvas with a transparent background to which I add my other elements. 

Save first as PSD. 

Then export to JPG, PNG or GIF and resize as needed.

Nancy O'Shea— Product User, Community Expert & Moderator
Alt-Web Design & Publishing ~ Web : Print : Graphics : Media

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines